CTSSAR was incorporated in 1899 as a membership organization of men whose lineal ancestors supported the patriot cause during the War of Independence. Its mission is to promote appreciation for Revolutionary-era history and values. It collects documents, records, and objects; encourages historical and genealogical research, and operates three museums for the benefit of the American people: the Governor Trumbull War Office in Lebanon, the Nathan Hale School House in East Haddam, and the Nathan Hale Schoolhouse in New London. These sites are among the very first public museums in Connecticut. The War Office was dedicated in 1891, the East Haddam School Houses in 1900, and the New London School House in 1901.
Lebanon Historical Society
LHS was chartered in 1965. Its mission is to preserve and interpret all aspects of Lebanon, CT’s history, with a special emphasis on Lebanon during the Revolutionary War. LHS collects objects and documents, conducts educational programs, and facilitates historical and genealogical research. In 1998 LHS built the 7,500 SF Lebanon Historical Society Museum & Visitor Center on the historic Lebanon Green. It includes a visitor center, two exhibition galleries, multipurpose meeting room, and research center. LHS also owns three historic buildings nearby.
Jonathan Trumbull, Jr. House, Lebanon
Jonathan Trumbull, Jr. (1740-1809) served as George Washington’s secretary during the American Revolution and later served as governor of Connecticut 1797-1809. His elegant home on the Lebanon Green with hand-carved paneling and corner fireplaces is owned and operated as a museum by the Town of Lebanon.
Franklin Historical Society, Franklin
Founded in 1961, the Franklin Historical Society interprets the history of the Town of Franklin.
The Governor Samuel Huntington Trust, Inc. is the owner of the Huntington Homestead. Samuel Huntington was a self-educated lawyer who served in Connecticut’s General Assembly, and went on to become chief justice of the Superior Court and a delegate to the Continental Congress, where he signed the Declaration of Independence. In 1779 he was elected president of congress, and in 1788 he presided over the Connecticut Convention that was called to ratify the U.S. Constitution. In July of 1996, the Samuel Huntington Trust purchased his homestead from the town and began its career as a museum organization.
The Nathan Hale Homestead was the home of the family of State Hero, Nathan Hale. Constructed in 1776, the current house is the second dwelling built on the property. Nathan’s father, Richard Hale, was a prosperous livestock farmer and built the house for his large family. The house is furnished with Hale-family pieces and period antiques and is based on the family inventories. The house was deeded to Connecticut Landmarks in the 1940s. Much of the acreage associated with the Hale farm, is now the Nathan Hale State Forest.
Founded in 2001, the goals of the NHS are to encourage the study of Norwich history; to educate and enlighten persons about this history; to identify, collect, and preserve historical items such as documents, artifacts, memorabilia and personal recollections; to encourage the acquisition and restoration of historic buildings and sites; and to observe significant dates in Norwich’s history.
The Christopher Leffingwell House Museum is considered one of the finest restored examples of New England’s Colonial Architecture. Displayed within its walls are wonderful examples of early Norwich silversmiths and clock makers. It is a living museum where visitors can experience 18th century civilian life as they walk through its rooms and feel a connection to those who founded this country.
The Brooklyn Historical Society Museum building and the Daniel Putnam Tyler Law Office have been owned by the society since 1972. The exhibit space at the rear of the building which had housed the museum since 2000 became the General Putnam Gallery with two permanent exhibits dedicated to Brooklyn’s Revolutionary War hero: “Israel Putnam: Facets of a Hero” which tells about Putnam’s life as farmer, soldier, tavern owner, and folk hero and “General Israel Putnam Remembered” which tells the story of the creation of his imposing monument.
The story of Putnam Elms spans more than two hundred years of American history. It was the home of Colonel Daniel Putnam, son of Revolutionary War Major General Israel Putnam. Generations of the Putnam family lived in the house, and in 1906 descendant Emily Malbone Morgan purchased it and established a trust to ensure its security. The Colonel Daniel Putnam Association, Inc. was formed on May 25, 1910 to preserve the house.
The Avery Memorial Association was organized in 1894 after the burning of the Hive, the Avery homestead, and was incorporated in 1895 under the laws of Connecticut as a non-profit, charitable and educational institution. It is fully responsible for the care of the Memorial at the site of the Hive, the first Avery burying ground in Groton, and the restoration and upkeep of the Ebenezer Avery House where the wounded were cared for after the battle at Fort Griswold, September 6, 1781.
Founded in 1870, the New London County Historical Society is the oldest historical organization in eastern Connecticut. The Shaw Mansion, located near the intersection of Bank and Tilley Streets in New London, has been the society’s home since 1907. During the Revolutionary War the mansion served as Connecticut’s Naval Office. A visit here will provide a unique opportunity to learn of the role of privateering and State navies in the Revolution. Exhibits of artifacts and manuscripts from the period have the power to bring that struggle to life.
Since 1912, Girl Scouts has been helping girls in Connecticut build courage, confidence, and character while developing uncommon leadership skills that serve the common good. Through Girl Scouting, girls discover themselves as they explore their world, connect with others to understand the needs of their community, and take action to make the world a better place.
The Last Green Valley is two things – it’s the 35-town National Heritage Corridor in south-central Massachusetts and Connecticut’s northeast corner, and it’s also a member-supported non-profit organization working locally to preserve the irreplaceable land, water, and cultural resources of the region. Its mission is to enhance the region’s significant natural resources in the context of a vital regional economy and regional cultural identity.
The Noah Webster House & West Hartford Historical Society (NWH & WHHS) is located in the restored 18th-century birthplace and childhood home of Noah Webster, the creator of the first American dictionary and “Blue-Backed Speller”, a teacher, lawyer and early abolitionist. The home was restored by the Noah Webster Foundation, a private 501(c)(3) organization, and opened to the public as a museum in the late 1960s. In 1970, the West Hartford Historical Society merged with the Foundation. Today, the museum building includes the historic house, the Jodik Education Center with a working reproduction open hearth, two exhibition galleries, a newly renovated Visitor Reception Center (VRC), and the Hamilton Gallery. The VRC includes a museum shop, a one-room schoolhouse theater, and a long-term exhibit on Noah Webster. The museum holdings also include a diverse collection of decorative arts, manuscripts, books, and ephemeral artifacts related to Noah Webster as well as to the local community.
The Fairfield Museum and History Center opened in 2007 and is located on the historic town green, adjacent to buildings such as The Sun Tavern, which may have housed General Washington for an evening in 1789, and the Burr Mansion, where John Hancock married Dorothy Quincy in 1775. Walking tours on the history of the Burning of Fairfield and on the Town Green are available through the museum